

## WHAT IS CRC?

## Commission for Controlling the Desert Locust in the Central Region

The Commission for Controlling the Desert Locust in the Central Region (CRC) was established within the framework of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO). The agreement for the establishment of the Commission was approved by the FAO Council at its 44th Session in **July 1965** (Resolution 6/44), under the authority of the Conference (Eleventh Session, 1961, Resolution 9/61) and on the recommendation of a Special Conference held in Beirut (1965). The Agreement came into force on 21 February 1967 and was amended by the Commission at its Seventh Session (1976), with subsequent approval of the Council at its Seventy-second Session (1977, Resolution 5/72). The Twentieth Session of the Commission, held in Cairo from 18-20 December 1994, considered renaming the Region "Central Region" and consequently modifying the name of the Commission and the Agreement. It also considered modifying the definition of the Region covered by the Agreement to make it possible for Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia and Somalia to become Members of the Commission. This was approved by the Council at its Hundred and Eighth Session (Rome, 5-14 June 1995), a logo was chosen for the Commission.

The seat of the Commission is to be determined by the Commission; currently the seat is in *Cairo*, Egypt. The Sessions of the Commission are normally held at its seat; however, it could be convened elsewhere in consultation with the Director-General of the Organization, in pursuance of a decision of the Commission at a previous session.

The Commission consists of the following **member countries**:

Bahrain, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, United Arab Emirates and Yemen.

The Commission may, by a two-thirds majority of its members, admit to membership such other states, situated in the Central Region that are members of the United Nations. The last three countries that joined the Commission were Djibouti in 2002, Ethiopia in 2004 and Eritrea in 2006,

The **function** of the Commission is; to plan and promote any national, regional and international actions relating to survey and control of Desert Locust; to maintain reserves of anti-locust equipment, insecticides and other supplies to be used in case of emergency and to support member countries to building national capacities. The Commission also ensures that all member countries are provided with updated information with regard to Desert Locust infestations; assists the national research organizations and institutes of its members and coordinates research activities in its Region.

The Commission convenes regular sessions, at least once every two years, in which the Chairman, a vice-Chairman and the Executive Committee members are elected by the delegates.

The Executive Committee of the Commission was composed of five members of the Commission, but after the adherence of the three additional countries, Djibouti, Ethiopia and Eritrea, the members of the Executive Committee was raised to seven. Its members and the Chairman are elected by the Commission at each regular session and are eligible for re-election. The elected Chairman of the Executive Committee and its members will hold the position until the next regular session of the Commission. The Committee meets at least once between any two successive regular sessions of the Commission.

The Committee makes proposals to the Commission concerning policy matters and the programme activities and monitors their proper implementation. The Committee also submits proposed work and budget plans and annual accounts to the Commission.

Each member country contributes annually to the overall budget of the Commission. The Commission may as well accept contributions and donations from other sources.